Home Politics NDC increases seats in Upper East Region

NDC increases seats in Upper East Region


Certified results from the Electoral Commission (EC) indicates that the National Democratic Congress (NDC) has won 14 parliamentary seats out of the 15 in the Upper East Region.

The New Patriotic Party(NPP) has only one seat at Binduri.The NPP lost the Tempane, Zebilla and Navrongo Central seats to the NDC and snatched the Binduri seat from the NDC.

For the Binduri Constituency, the sitting NDC candidate, Dr Robert Baba Kuganab-lem, who got 14, 562 votes, lost to NPP’s Mr Abdulai Abanga, who secured 15,016 votes.

In the Navrongo Central Constituency, Mr Sampson Tangombu Chiragia, the NDC parliamentary candidate polled 26,947 to defeat the Upper East Regional Minister, Miss Tangoba Abayage, who secured 15,821 votes.

In Tempane, the incumbent Member of Parliament for the constituency and Deputy Attorney General in the ruling New Patriotic Party government, Mr Joseph Dindiok Kpemka, failed to retain the seat. He polled 16,462 votes as against 20,939 votes garnered by his closest competitor and the NDC parliamentary candidate, Miss Lydia Akanvariba Lamisi.

Miss Lamisi is the widow of the late David Adakudugu who was elected as an MP in the 2012 parliamentary election.

In Zebilla, one of the longest-serving former Member of Parliament in the Upper East Region, Mr Cletus Avoka, staged a strong come back when he defeated the sitting Member of Parliament for Zebilla and Deputy Upper East Regional Minister, Mr Frank Fuseini Adongo. Mr Avoka polled 33, 616 votes to beat Mr Adongo who got 15,997.

Dr Dominic Akuritinga Ayine, the NDC incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) for Bolgatanga East retained his seat as he got 12,394 votes to beat the NPP candidate Mr Emmanuel Abugre Abole, who had 6,042 votes.

For the Builsa North and Builsa South constituencies, Mr James Agalga and Mr Clement Apaak, both incumbent NDC MPs retained their seats.

Mr Agalga beat the NPP parliamentary candidate, Maurice James Abakasi. Mr Apaak got 7,451 votes to beat his main contender, Mr Gariba Daniel Kwame of the NPP, who secured 5,674 votes.

The sitting MP for Nabdam, Dr Mark Kurt Nawaani, also retained his seat as he polled 10,842 votes to beat Mr Boniface Gambilla, the NPP parliamentary candidate, who got 7,924 votes.

The sitting MP for Bawku Central, Mr Mahama Ayariga, retained the seat with 25,490 votes. He beat his opponent, Madam Gabiana Agbanwaa Bugri, the NPP parliamentary candidate, who polled 23,125 votes.

The incumbent NDC MP for the Garu Constituency, Mr Albert Akuka also retained the seat as he secured 12,407 votes to beat his opponent, Mr Musah Osman of the NPP, who got 9,344 votes.

Other victors

The NDC MP for the Pusiga Constituency, Madam Laadi Ayii Ayamba, retained her seat as she polled 14,929 while Mr Abdul-Karim Zanni Dubiure of the NPP had 14,866 votes.

In the Bongo Constituency, the NDC MP, Mr Edward Bawa, had 26,268 votes to beat the District Chief Executive for the area, Mr Peter Ayinbisa Ayamga, of the NPP, who secured 17,276 votes.

In Chiana-Paga, Mr Thomas Dalu retained the seat for the NDC as he polled 21, 954 votes to beat the NPP candidate, Robert Abechira Aloo who had 15, 540 votes.

The incumbent NDC MP for Bolgatanga Central, Mr Isaac Adongo, obtained 36,281 votes to defeat NPP’s Rex Asanga, who secured 19,682 votes



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version