Home ELECTION Agona West Constituency: Cynthia Morrison retains seat as MP

Agona West Constituency: Cynthia Morrison retains seat as MP


The Member of Parliament (MP) for the Agona West Constituency, Cynthia Mamle Morrison has been re-elected for a second four-year term after winning Monday’s General Election.

Mrs Morrison who doubles as the Minister for Gender, Children and Social Protection in the incumbent New Patriotic Party government polled 30,513 out of a total of 59,193 valid votes cast.

He closest challenger Paul Ofori-Amoah of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) got 27,673 while an independent candidate Ishmael Kofi Tekyi Turkson got 1,007 votes.

There were 803 rejected ballots and a total of 59,996 votes.

The NDC candidate is alleged to have admitted to issuing cheques found on four persons the police describe as ‘suspicious characters’ arrested at a hotel in Swedru on Saturday.

He was been charged provisionally with preparation to commit murder and abetment to commit murder.

The Public Relations Officer of the Regional Police Command, Deputy Superintendent of Police, Ms Irene Oppong briefing the press, said the police had picked the cheques belonging to Paul Amoah at the hotel where the suspects were picked up and invited him to assist in investigations.

Certified results from the EC Parliamentary elections in Agona West Constituency

Mrs Cynthia Mamle Morrison (NPP) = 30,513

Paul Ofori-Amoah (NDC) = 27,673

Ishmael Kofi Tekyi Turkson(Independent)- 1,007

Rejected- 803

Valid votes cast – 59,193

Total votes cast – 59,996



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version